Djuricic – A Thank You

Finally, my worst moment in football can be consigned to the scrap heap.

The time was the late eighties and I was playing for my Ladsanddads team when the ball was crossed to me as I stood less than a yard off the goal line. Seeing the ball float towards me I was already thinking of my goal celebration when somehow I managed to head the ball onto my own knee. Horrified I watched as the ball ballooned over the crossbar, much to the amusement of the opposing goalkeeper.

However, no longer will I be burdened with the knowledge I was responsible for the worse miss in footballing history thanks to this effort by Djuricic, a striker from Serbian side Lokomotiva:

So from one master of the impossible to another, thank you Djuricic

Leave a Reply

